Friday, 16 May 2014

Nobel Prize in Physics 2013

Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences awards Nobel Prizes once every year. The Academy instituted the award as per the will of Alfred Nobel in 1895. The award ceremony took off in 1901. Through a rigorous selection process, the Nobel Committee of five selects the person eligible for the award. They may select a maximum of three persons for the award but the subject should not be more than two.

This year’s Nobel Prize in Physics went to two scientists who were involved in research concerning the mechanism existing between subatomic particles that resulting in the aspect known as mass. Francois Englert and Peter W. Higgs did work that shows how subatomic particles have mass. The ATLAS experiments together with the CMS experiment confirmed this.

The list of luminous scientists who were recipients of this award includes Albert Einstein, Niels Bohr, Marie Curie, Max Planck and Werner Heisenberg.