Friday, 16 May 2014

Nobel Prize in Chemistry

Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences awards Nobel Prizes once every year. The Academy instituted the award as per the will of Alfred Nobel in 1895. The award ceremony took off in 1901. Through a rigorous selection process, the Nobel Committee of five selects the person eligible for the award. They may select a maximum of three persons for the award but the subject should not be more than two.

This year’s Nobel Prize in Chemistry went to Michael Levitt, Martin Karplus and Arieh Warshel. Their area of research involved development of multiscale models of complex chemical systems.

The list of luminous scientists who were recipients of this award includes Albert Einstein, Niels Bohr, Marie Curie, Max Planck and Werner Heisenberg.

No comments:

Post a Comment