Friday, 16 May 2014

Nobel Prize in Literature

Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences awards Nobel Prizes once every year. The Academy instituted the award as per the will of Alfred Nobel in 1895. The award ceremony took off in 1901. Through a rigorous selection process, the Nobel Committee of five selects the person eligible for the award. They may select a maximum of three persons for the award but the subject should not be more than two.

Canadian Alice Munro won this year’s Nobel Prize for Literature. Her works include “The View From Castle Rock” and “Too Much Happiness”. Her short stories depict everyday events with a twist, revealing hidden aspects to the readers.

The list of luminous scientists who were recipients of this award includes Albert Einstein, Niels Bohr, Marie Curie, Max Planck and Werner Heisenberg.

No comments:

Post a Comment